Former Fellow awarded the Institute of Physics President’s Medal


Professor Douglas Paul, a former Fellow at St Edmund’s College, received the Institute of Physics President’s Medal at an event in London on Wednesday 15 October 2014.

Just eight of the medals have been presented since the award’s inception in 1998. Past recipients include particle physicist and broadcaster Professor Brian Cox in 2012 and Sir Timothy Berners-Lee, inventor of the World Wide Web, in 2006.

The medal is presented to individuals who have, in the Institute’s words, ‘provided meritorious services in various fields of endeavour which were of benefit to physics in general and the Institute in particular.’

Dr Frances Saunders, the Institute of Physics’ president, chose Professor Paul in recognition of his achievements in translating physics research into advanced technology.

Professor Paul said: “I’m pleased and proud to have received the President’s Medal from the Institute of Physics. It’s a tremendous honour and I’m very grateful for the recognition.

To read more on the award and career of Professor Paul, click here.

To see a list of recipients of the Institute of Physics President’s Medal, click here.