Professor Mike Herrtage awarded for outstanding contributions to veterinary specialisation in Europe


Professor Mike Herrtage was presented with the 2018 European Board of Veterinary Specialisation Award for ‘outstanding contributions to veterinary specialisation in Europe at this year’s EBVS AGM.

In 1993, Mike was elected chair of the interim Board Veterinary Specialisation at a Symposium on European Veterinary Specialisation held in Luxembourg. The interim Board later became the EBVS and he elected was its first President for 3 years.

The EBVS provided the framework for the development of veterinary specialisation in Europe initially bringing together 5 fledgling European Colleges.

Today the EBVS comprises 26 European Colleges with over 3800 European Veterinary Specialists. Mike was a member of the Board for 17 years.